The making of the Institute

The Institute was created in 2009 in Picardie, northern France, a region rich with history and the location of many of the First World War battlegrounds. The Institute is dedicated to improving the quality of life of those suffering from a head and neck pathology, through Research, Training and Information.

Since its creation, the Institute has been developing its programs under the leadership of professors Bernard Devauchelle and Sylvie Testelin, and in partnership with numerous research teams from Amiens University Hospital, Jules Verne University, Compiegne Technology University, Louvain Catholic University and also the European Association of Maxillo-facial surgeons and many other partners throughout the world.

In 2021, a new building dedicated to the mission of the Institute will open its doors nearby Amiens University Hospital. Find out more about it here.

2009- Creation of Institut Faire Faces association, entitled to receiving public donations

2010- a 10.5 million euros grant from the National Research Agency, to acquire innovative technological equipment (EQUIPEX grant) as part of the Investing in Future Program.

2015 – Creation of a   FHU, a Hospital and University federation bringing together head and neck surgeons as well as researchers specialized in imaging technologies, bio engineering and cognitive sciences from the French cities of Amiens, Caen and Rouen, with the goal of establishing the conditions to be met to perform functional and esthaetical reconstructive surgeries in the case of major disfigurments.


2017 – Organizer of ADT conference (Advanced Digital Technology in Head and Neck reconstruction) in Amiens

2018 –  The French Ministry of Higher Education, Innovation and Research grants the CHIMERE team with the Research Laboratory Label (EA 7516). CHIMERE is the name of the Research Team, made up of 50 clinicians and researchers, that makes up the heart of the Institute’s Research programs.

The Association was created in 2009 by the professors Devauchelle and Testelin, who performed the first face transplant in 2005.

Le Conseil d’Administration de l’association décide de la politique d’orientation et contrôle la gestion de l’Association. The Executive Board develops the Association’s strategy and monitors the management of the Association. It is made up of the following members: 

Professor Bernard DEVAUCHELLE
Professor Sylvie TESTELIN
Professor Jean-Marc CONSTANS
Professor Jean-Pierre MAROLLEAU
Doctor Julien DAVROU


The Scientific Board is appointed by the Executive Board and meets at least once per year. The Scientific Board’s area of responsibilities are:

  • Provide input on the research programs planned and carried out by the Association
  • Participate in the development of the research program priorities
  • Share scientific results